MCS Re-enactment

The Medieval Combat Society

Home Events Join Us Book Us About
Gallery History Heraldry Links For Kids

Marshals of England

The title started out as Marshal and later became Earl Marshal and was generally a hereditary position and controlled the kings horses and stables, and held a court of chivalry for the administration of justice according to the law of arms, including ransom, booty and soldiers wages and the misuse of armorial bearings. From the 16th June 1673 the Earl Marshal controlled the granting of arms.

1135-1149 Gilbert de Clare, 1st Earl of Pembroke
1149-1176 Richard de Clare, 2nd Earl of Pembroke
1176-1199 John Marshal
1199-1219 William Marshal, 1st Earl of Pembroke
1219-1231 William Marshal, 2nd Earl of Pembroke
1231-1234 Richard Marshal, 3rd Earl of Pembroke
1234-1242 Gilbert Marshal, 4th Earl of Pembroke
1242-1245 Walter Marshal, 5th Earl of Pembroke
1245 Anselm Marshal, 6th Earl of Pembroke
1245-1269 Roger Bigod, 4th Earl of Norfolk
1269-1307 Roger Bigod, 5th Earl of Norfolk
1307-1308 Robert de Clifford
1308-1315 Nicholas Segrave, Lord Segrave
1315-1338 Thomas Plantagenet of Brotherton, Earl of Norfolk
1338-1377 Margaret of Norfolk
1377 Henry Percy, Lord Percy
1377-1383 John Fitzalan, Lord Maltravers
1383-1397 Thomas Mowbray, Earl of Nottingham
1397-1398 Thomas Mowbray, 1st Duke of Norfolk
1398-1399 Thomas Holland, Duke of Surrey
1400-1412 Ralph Neville, 1st Earl of Westmorland
1412-1432 John Mowbray, 2nd Duke of Norfolk
1432-1461 John Mowbray, 3rd Duke of Norfolk
1461-1476 John Mowbray, 4th Duke of Norfolk
1476-1483 Richard Plantagenet,Duke of York
1483-1485 John Howard, 1st Duke of Norfolk
1486-1497 William Berkeley, 1st Earl of Nottingham
1497-1509 Henry Tudor, Duke of York
1509-1524 Thomas Howard, 2nd Duke of Norfolk
1524-1547 Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke of Norfolk
1547-1549 Edward Seymour, 1st Duke of Somerset
1549-1553 John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland
1553-1554 Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke of Norfolk, restored
1554-1572 Thomas Howard, 4th Duke of Norfolk
1572-1590 George Talbot, 6th Earl of Shrewsbury
1590-1597 Commission
1597-1601 Robert Devereux, 2nd Earl of Essex
1602-1603 Commission
1603 Edward Somerset, 4th Earl of Worcester
1604-1622 Commission
1622-1646 Thomas Howard, Earl of Arundel and Surrey
1646-1652 Henry Howard, Earl of Arundel and Surrey
1661-1662 James Howard, 3rd Earl of Suffolk
1662-1672 in commission
1672-1684 Henry Howard, 6th Duke of Norfolk
1684-1701 Henry Howard, 7th Duke of Norfolk
1701-1732 Thomas Howard, 8th Duke of Norfolk
1732-1777 Edward Howard, 9th Duke of Norfolk
1777-1786 Charles Howard, 10th Duke of Norfolk
1786-1815 Charles Howard, 11th Duke of Norfolk
1815-1842 Bernard Edward Howard, 12th Duke of Norfolk
1842-1856 Henry Charles Howard, 13th Duke of Norfolk
1856-1860 Henry Granville Fitzalan-Howard, 14th Duke of Norfolk
1860-1917 Henry Fitzalan-Howard, 15th Duke of Norfolk
1917-1975 Bernard Marmaduke Fitzalan-Howard, 16th Duke of Norfolk
1975-2002 Miles Francis Stapleton Fitzalan-Howard, 17th Duke of Norfolk
2002- Edward William Fitzalan-Howard, 18th Duke of Norfolk

Medieval Combat Society re-enactment©2008 The Medieval Combat Society

Home EventsJoin UsBook UsAboutGalleryHistoryHeraldryLinksFor Kids Mediaeval Combat Society